Perfectly imperfect

I watched a Sophia Bush interview today (link below). It was as uplifting and inspiring as you could expect from this brilliant woman I call my role model. However, there is one sentence that stood out from her speech and I wanted to share it with you.

“People’s flaws are just as important as their strengths”

This quote was really thought provoking for me. What makes a person whole is the addition of their strengths but also their flaws. Our flaws make us beautiful and unique and real.

To really get to know a person, you must acknowledge, accept and appreciate their flaws. This also applies to ourselves. They are part of us and we shouldn’t try to deny or change them. Everybody in this world is flawed, and that’s perfectly fine.

Also, it’s important to know that sometimes, what we see as a flaw can actually be an important aspect of our personality and result in bigger and better things. I used to hate myself for being shy and awkward until I realized I was just an introvert and there’s nothing wrong with that. My introversion makes me a commited, independent and passionnate person. I wouldn’t change that for the world.

That being said, embrace who you are. Love who you are. Your flaws and your strengths, all of it.

You are perfectly imperfect.

Click here to watch the interview.

1362 1361

One thought on “Perfectly imperfect

  1. Anna says:

    Soph! Once again, an amazing post. I’m actually looking forward to reading what you write every tueday. You are amazing and this is amazing and Sophia is amazing. Also the paragraph about being introverted is so spot on how I used to feel and once again you’ve put words on my thoughts. Well done! Thought I’d comment here instead of tweeting you to spice things up hehe

    Like

Leave a Reply

